Atlanta United signs Jürgen Damm

Jurgen Damm has become the new signing for Atlanta United

After many months of rumors, Atlanta United has officially announced the signing of midfielder Jürgen Damm, after acquiring its Discovery Rights from Houston Dynamo for $50,000 in General Allocation Money.

Damm will join United in August after the MLS is Back Tournament, which is when his contract with Tigres UANL will expire.

“It’s exciting to add a player with Jürgen’s pedigree and winning mentality and we’re looking forward to welcoming him to the club,” Atlanta United Vice President and Technical Director Carlos Bocanegra said. “He’s excelled in Liga MX, as well on the international level with the Mexican National Team and we believe he can make an immediate impact in MLS. Jürgen is versatile to play on either wing, and with his pace and ability to beat defenders 1v1 to deliver a cross, he gives us another valuable weapon in our attack.”

Damm, a native from Tuxpan, Veracruz in Mexico, has played his professional soccer career only in Liga MX. He made his Liga MX debut with Tecos in 2012 and was transferred to Pachuca the following year. 

After two seasons, he was signed by Tigres UANL, where he helped the team win four Liga MX titles between 2015 and 2019. Damm appeared in 172 matches for Tigres, scored 13 goals and had 23 assists. Damm also made various appearances for Tigres in CONCACAF Champions League matches and in Copa Libertadores, when Tigres was invited to the South American tournament in 2015.

Internationally, Damm has also been called up to the Mexican National Team and has appeared in 12 matches and has scored once, a goal against Honduras in 2015 during World Cup Qualifying. 

2020 Atlanta United roster (as of July 1, 2020)

Goalkeepers (3): Brad Guzan, Alec Kann, Brendan Moore

Defenders (10): George Bello, George Campbell, Edgar Castillo, Franco Escobar, Jon Gallagher, Brooks Lennon, Fernando Meza, Miles Robinson, Anton Walkes, Laurence Wyke.

Midfielders (11): Mo Adams, Ezequiel Barco, Andrew Carleton**, Manuel Castro, Jürgen Damm, Luiz Fernando, Emerson Hyndman, Jeff Larentowicz, Jake Mulraney, Eric Remedi, Matheus Rossetto. 

Forwards (5): Adam Jahn, Lagos Kunga*, Josef Martinez, Pity Martinez, JJ Williams.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.