Atlanta United and Atlanta United 2 announce roster moves

Atlanta United logo

Atlanta United and Atlanta United 2 have announced roster moves ahead of the MLS is Back Tournament and the restart of the USL Championship.

For Atlanta United 2, the club announced the signing of defender Patrick Nielsen. The Copenhagen, Denmark native was drafted by Atlanta United in the 2019 MLS SuperDraft with the No. 23 pick.

“Patrick joins us following a successful college career, and we are excited to see him grow at the professional level,” said ATL UTD 2 head coach Stephen Glass. “We will push him to emulate the successes of fellow center backs that have recently come through Atlanta United 2 and featured for the First Team.”

Nielsen played his collegiate career with Michigan State, where he totaled 33 appearances and scored three goals and had three assists. He was also named to the First Team All-Conference in 2018 and the Second Team in 2019. Before transferring to Michigan State, he played at Cincinnati in 2016 where he played 17 matches and had two assists. 

Atlanta United

Meanwhile for Atlanta United, the club announced the return of Jon Gallagher to the club after being on loan with Aberdeen FC.

Gallagher was sent on loan to the Scottish Premiership in June of 2019 and after the end of the 2019 MLS season, his loan was extended to the end of the 2019-2020 season. While in Scotland, Gallagher appeared in 33 matches, including six appearances in Europa League matches. Gallagher was acquired in 2018 via the MLS SuperDraft with the No. 14 pick.

Also, the club announced the extension of Manuel Castro’s loan until the end of the 2020 season.

Castro arrived from Argentina’s Estudiantes de la Plata on Feb. 12. Castro has only made one appearance for United, coming in as a sub at the 58th minute during the club’s last match in March 11 against Club America. 

2020 Atlanta United roster (as of June 29, 2020)

Goalkeepers (3): Brad Guzan, Alec Kann, Brendan Moore

Defenders (10): George Bello, George Campbell, Edgar Castillo, Franco Escobar, Jon Gallagher, Brooks Lennon, Fernando Meza, Miles Robinson, Anton Walkes, Laurence Wyke.

Midfielders (10): Mo Adams, Ezequiel Barco, Andrew Carleton**, Manuel Castro, Luiz Fernando, Emerson Hyndman, Jeff Larentowicz, Jake Mulraney, Eric Remedi, Matheus Rossetto

Forwards (5): Adam Jahn, Lagos Kunga*, Josef Martinez, Pity Martinez, JJ Williams.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.