Five Stripes announce roster moves

Julian Gressel will continue to play for Atlanta heading into 2020 as Atlanta United picked up his contract option

Atlanta United announced today its roster moves heading into the beginning of the 2020 season.

The Five Stripes exercised contract options on Julian Gressel, Leandro Gonzalez Pirez, Mo Adams and Andrew Carleton. 

In 2019, Gressel played in 43 matches across all competitions and scored 10 goals and had 13 assists. Gonzalez Pirez played in 42 matches and scored once and was a key part in Atlanta’s backline all year long.

Adams arrived to Atlanta in the middle of the year from the Chicago Fire and played in 16 matches and Carleton saw action in only six matches with United, but he did make 15 appearances with Atlanta United 2.

Also, the club declined the options on Jose Hernandez, Florentin Pogba, Chris Goslin, Justin Meram and Patrick Okonkwo.

Meanwhile, Mikey Ambrose, Alec Kann, Kevin Kratz, Jeff Larentowicz and Brek Shea saw their contract come to an end. The club announced it has offered a new contract to Kann and Larentowicz. 

Ambrose will be available to other MLS teams in the Re-Entry Draft, Kratz through End-of-Year-Waivers and Shea will hit free agency.

Also, the club announced that Emerson Hyndman’s loan will end at the end of 2019, but Atlanta United Vice President Carlos Bocanegra said during a conference call to expect some big news regarding Hyndman’s status with the team in the upcoming weeks.

During the conference call, Bocanegra also said that the team will have its preseason in Guadalajara, Mexico, before the team will compete in the 2020 CONCACAF Champions League.

Bocanegra also said that the team is working towards a contract extension for Gressel and also working towards a new contract for Meram. 

The last bit of the conference call confirmed that Ezequiel Barco and Pity Martinez will be part of Atlanta United’s 2020 roster.

At the moment, here is the roster for Atlanta United:

Goalkeepers (2): Brad Guzan, Brendan Moore

Defenders (6): George Bello, George Campbell, Franco Escobar, Jon Gallagher (on loan), Leandro Gonzalez Pirez and Miles Robinson

Midfielders (7): Mo Adams, Ezequiel Barco, Andrew Carleton, Luiz Fernando, Julian Gressel, Emerson Hyndman, and Eric Remedi

Forwards (5): Lagos Kunga, Josef Martinez, Pity Martinez, Dion Pereira, Tito Villalba

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.