Auburn Tigers

Bo Nix Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Bo Nix Quarterback Auburn #WarEagle, #AUNextLevel, #auburn, #auburntigers, #secfootballTigers scores a touchdown

Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week

NEW ORLEANS – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Shane Buechele, SMU (21-of-25, 226 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.9)

Buechele, who adds a rushing touchdown, keys a 48-21 road win over USF in the Mustangs’ AAC opener which also lifts them to 5-0 for the first time since 1983.

Sean Clifford, Penn State (26-of-31, 398 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 98.6)

Clifford, who also runs for 54 yards and a touchdown, tallies his first career 300-yard game while leading the Nittany Lions to scores on their first four possessions as they roll to a 59-0 Big Ten road win over Maryland.

Layne Hatcher, Arkansas State (25-of-35, 440 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 69.8)

Hatcher, making his first career start, connects on a 92-yard touchdown pass on his first drive and then continues to roll as he leads the Red Wolves to a 50-43 Sun Belt road victory over Troy.

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (17-of-24, 415 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 98.9)

Hurts, who also rushes for 70 yards and a touchdown, tallies his first career 400-yard passing game as the Sooners rolled to a 55-16 Big 12 win over Texas Tech.

Davis Mills, Stanford (18-of-25, 245 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.8)

Mills, who has career-bests in yards and touchdowns, throws for a first down and runs for another to set up the game-winning field goal with one second to go in a 31-28 Pac-12 road win over Oregon State to snap a three-game losing streak.

Tanner Morgan, Minnesota (21-of-22, 396 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.4)

Morgan was near-perfect as he set the Big Ten record for completion percentage while tallying his career-high in passing yards and touchdowns in a 38-31 Big Ten road win over Purdue.

Bo Nix, Auburn (16-of-21, 335 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.5)

Nix, who also rushes for 56 yards and a touchdown, records his first career 300-yard game as he leads the Tigers to a 56-23 SEC win over Mississippi State.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (26-of-36, 418 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.7)

Tagovailoa sets the school-record for touchdown passes while also rushing for a score (his 81st career TD, another school-record) as he helps the Crimson Tide erase their first deficit of the season as they cruise to a 59-31 SEC win over Ole Miss.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall. 

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.